A Plate Full

Would you like to know the secret to becoming a healthier version of yourself? Well, I’ll let you know it is not much of a secret, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told, “You need to eat healthy and exercise…blah, blah, blah.” But, what does healthy exactly mean? Where and how do I begin? Before continuing on, I would like to introduce myself.

Hello!

Hello!

My name is Zully, and I am 19 years old, and ever since I can remember I’ve had a love/hate relationship with food. I love indulging in sweets, and most things that aren’t especially nutritional, but I despise the feeling afterwards. I don’t know about you all but after consuming “bad” food I feel lethargic, bloated, and cranky (As I’m writing this, I’m craving something sweet. I have to remember self-discipline though). I am a college student who suffered from the infamous “Freshman 15,” an average weight gain of 15 pounds which occurs throughout your first year of college due to the cafeteria food. I am a petite girl, standing at 4’10” it is noticeably apparent when I gain a few extra pounds, so in my attempt to a “new year, new me” approach, I chose to give CrossFit a chance. One month later, I feel like I have been born again!

What’s your point?

The purpose of this blog is to share my journey towards a healthy lifestyle, despite the obstacles life throws at one. Foodie Zully will include recipes of my favorite dishes with a paleo twist, a journal of the foods I am eating, and tips I have learned to make life easier especially for those of us who have our plates full (pun intended, you can laugh). I owe CrossFit for allowing me to see that I don’t have to be complacent with my body and overall health. I always thought it was acceptable to be unhealthy, and did not realize I was jeopardizing my health to satisfy my hunger with crap “food.”

deepfriedbutter

SAY NO TO THIS! 🙂

Cross- what?

CrossFit is not your typical gym workout and for that reason, it has vastly become popular in recent years. These strength and conditioning workouts were initially created to shape up those who were in the police academy, military, athletes, among others. In a time restrictive workout of the day, called WOD, one has to complete as many repetitions as possible through various sets of exercises. Along with the rigorous workout is a nutrition plan to which all members are strongly encouraged to follow.

Paleo 101

The Paleo Diet, as many like to call it, follows the simplistic diet our ancestors once consumed. This includes eating a primary source for protein, any meat such as beef, chicken, pork, and large game, the consumption of vegetables, healthy fats, nuts and seeds, and little fruit. Due to this diet, our ancestors did not suffer form many health problems such as obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, and others. Many believe it had to do with the nutrient rich foods they were eating.

file5751243885911

SAY YES TO THIS!

Eating paleo is very easy, simply eat meat as a source of protein along with a ton of vegetables, whether they are grilled, sauteed, baked, or raw, and include a healthy source of fat, such as cooking with coconut oil, or butter from grass-fed animals. To wash it down, drink a tall glass of water and voila! You have begun eating paleo!

Are you down for the ride?

file000672481360

It won’t be easy, but it’ll be worth it!

Throughout this journey I will share my positive experiences, and struggles to this new lifestyle. I hope that by following my road to healthy you will be inspired to learn and become a better version of yourself by adapting a new way of eating food. It is time we take a deeper look into what we are feeding our bodies.

Thank you! Stay tuned for my next post on a day-in-the-life of a busy, broke, healthy, college student.

-Foodie Zully

Leave a Reply

